Traveling Disaster (Again)

IMG_20170511_113107
Trying to smile under the heavy wind and rain wasn’t easy

I once wrote it here what dress I will bring, what kind of outfit for my outing trip to the province of  islands Bangka and Belitung. Well, guess what… no surprise that all my plan failed.

I didn’t expect the weather would not be friendly with us. I have expected there would be rain but goodness for all day long? And our trip was hopping islands where you expected blue sky and white sands. It didn’t happen. So, eventually I just wear my shirt and legging because there is no place for changing clothes. Yeah, I brought my raincoat but I use it to cover my belonging from the rain. It was a miracle I didn’t get sick.

So my tips for you if you are planning to visit any islands of Indonesia are:

IMG_7900
Raincoat changes to cover belongings instead of me

1. Bring raincoat
Yes, naturally we expect the day will be oh so bright but sometimes crappy things happens. So, make sure the raincoat always be with you at any cost. Big chances on your first day arrival, the tour guide won’t bring you to the hotel. But jump right in to the itinerary. You need to separate things that you will need the most so you don’t have to busy try to find them in the suitcase

2. Waterproof bag and pouch
Did I say I finally buy one on discounted prize? Oh yes I did. But, I misinterpreted what the tour guide inform us. He said bring all the things we need for hopping islands in one bag. Then on the spot he said, bring only the things you need for hopping island. So there you go. I have left my waterproof tote bag in my room. Eventually I only brought my handphone and clothes for change which end up useless.
If I may suggest, I think you should get sling bag for the waterproof bag. Because tote bag; IMHO is not suitable for hopping island. Where you have to move quick, jumping from the boat to the shore. You need both of your hands, not one hand to bring your bag and the other busy holding on to something. And bring your waterproof pouch as well for your phone. Since I only bring one, I often open this pouch. And as the result, there was some kind of dew and making all my photo seems taken with fogs on it…

3. Water
If you are going on a group tour then you have nothing to worry about. Water will be provided. But if not, then you should at least bring one bottle of water

IMG_20170510_154514
This is the day under cloudy weather before jumping to the sea

4. Fashion
Well, even though the weather ruining your day, doesn’t mean the end of the world. Bring the most colorful shirt you ever own. They will look nice on pic no matter how bad the weather is. So, if you think you still up for it to change clothes during hopping island then bring various colorful shirts. The above pic is me with my old Zara dress that didn’t last long. Once I hit the ocean well… changing clothes is a must.

IMG_20170510_161238
I wish I could join them but….

I borrowed this one from my colleague because… I left my clothes elsewhere.

 

IMG_20170511_140248
Foggy pictures taken from my cellphone inside waterproof pouch

5. Bring sandals and climbing shoes and sneakers
Beaches around Bangka and Belitung often surrounded by big wall stones so you need to do a bit of climbing to get a better pose. Make sure you wear something comfortable to protect your feet. I only brought my sandals and end up with blisters and my feet a bit swell aterwards.

6. Hat and sunglasses
We always expect the best from the weather so better not leave these two behind.

I will post more from my trip to Bangka and Belitung later… Hope these tips will be useful for you.

11 thoughts on “Traveling Disaster (Again)

  1. turiscantik June 10, 2017 / 2:49 am

    memang kadang apes lagi traveling eeehhh kena hujan. Jangan lupa bawa dry bag mbak 😉

    Like

  2. Keke Naima June 11, 2017 / 5:35 am

    tapi kadang asik juga hujan-hujanan saat traveling. Cuma bawaannya jadi berat karena bawa baju basah 😀

    Like

    • Ria June 15, 2017 / 1:06 am

      gak asiiiik, jd susah mau foto2… dan inceran langit birunya jadi gak dapat :))))

      Like

  3. Widi Utami June 13, 2017 / 12:56 am

    Your smile under the rain is similiar with ‘mringis’ :p

    As bolangers, its comfy to wear ‘sandal gunung’, my favorite one. But, when i become wife and mom, so many people ask me to wear girl shoes. 😀

    Like

    • riatumimomor June 13, 2017 / 1:11 am

      when you visit this kind of site, sendal gunung is the best ! Sneaker still okay, sandal still forgiven… but girl shoes won’t survive there

      Like

  4. dwi sari June 15, 2017 / 9:49 am

    Hmm after read all these tips, seems i need to waterproof buy bag or pouch
    Tfs Mbak Ria 😉

    Like

    • coretandenina July 11, 2017 / 8:59 am

      wah, kita samaan mbak… saya kepikiran beli tas yang waterproof walau semacam jack wolfskin itu ada jaket nya tapi tetap buat kamera masih kurang

      Liked by 1 person

      • riatumimomor July 12, 2017 / 4:47 am

        memang mesti bawa tas waterproof tp kl bisa yg sling biar gak ribet…

        Like

  5. coretandenina July 11, 2017 / 9:02 am

    Walau nggak dapat blue sky nya, tapi dapat cerita perjalanan yang nggak kalah menarik kak. Kita-kita dapat tips pula… ditunggu cerita selanjutnya

    Liked by 1 person

    • riatumimomor July 12, 2017 / 4:48 am

      Hihihi, lagian cuaca gak bisa dilawan… mau manyun juga gak ada gunanya kan 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

