Souvenir From Traveling

img_2382

Okay, due to limited of time traveling in Medan North Sumatra, my mom and I just remembered that we didn’t buy anything other than food and cookies for souvenir. But souvenir like bracelet, t-shirt were not on our mind at all.

You see, Indonesian have this bad habit of asking some kind of souvenir. Range from food, snack, keychains (commonly we bought this one because is cheap, and a lot cheaper if you buy them in many quantity then you got even cheaper prize). Then perfume, branded item (usually by promise I will pay you later), accessories and so on.

Reading my friend’s blog post about it, I realized I did that too in the past. I always think, hey I only ask for chocolate or keychain. That should not be heavy, right? But that is so annoying, come to think of it. Quoted from what my friend said on her post, we should be giving them sort of blessing or wishes like hope you enjoy your trip. Or hopefully you are back here safe and sound and so on. But anyway, let’s moving on to merchandise and souvenir from Medan – North Sumatera.

Usually people will bring cakes like Bika Ambon, Bolu Meranti, Sumatran Coffee (if you are a coffee addict then you should try it). Those were the only things on my mind when I bought to be distributed to family and friends.

Not until my mom said to me out of the blue after all those cookies and cakes and coffee already distributed,”My goodness… Come to think of it…we didn’t buy anything for ourselves.” And it means, we didn’t get to buy clothes or anything while traveling in Medan. Not that we didn’t go to the mall and we did! Just didn’t cross our mind.

There were reasons, but the main reason because she and my aunt fell ill during our first days. The second one, well is not like we need to buy something authentic or ethnic from Medan because we already have lots of them at home.

Before I go further, let me give you a bit of explanation. Indonesia has many ethnic groups and even my parents came from different ethnic groups. My late father from north celebes while my mom from north sumatra or known as Batak people. Batak people has this traditional cloth known as Ulos. You may read the explanation here at Wikipedia. And since my mom already has dozens of them at home (pictures of ulos later), there is no need to buy more. But then I remember that I should get something smaller for my friends, like bracelet. And I forgot to look for them because I was more into food hunting.

Sooo, I try to browse the internet try to find is there any online shop selling ethnic bracelet from North Sumatra or any other ehtnic group. I found three that looks interesting.

Tauko Medan
Most of their products are t-shirt, pencil bag, bandana, art fabric, bag and to me the prices are a bit pricey. And I think I have enough t-shirt at home.
But the t-shirt looks interesting and cool for souvenirs. Don’t know if they also serves customers outside Indonesia though.

img_2397

Awan Ethnic Craft
I like what they are selling so decide to get 3 bracelets for myself. They seems don’t handle buyers from outside Indonesia but who knows. They have many ethnic’s products like scarf, blanket, bracelet and bag as well. Two bracelets from Batak and the other thick one from Kalimantan.

I Love Medan Souvenir Shop
Didn’t get the chance to visit here but seems interesting and reliable enough.

I shouldn’t be posting these shops as my friends will know I forgot to get them something and just buy it online at the very last minute…

9 thoughts on “Souvenir From Traveling

  1. andinormas January 19, 2017 / 5:23 am

    Hahaha.. I usually never buy souvenir for myself.. all of them are distributed..

    Like

    • riatumimomor January 19, 2017 / 5:41 am

      Hahahaha, I can’t help it… I wish to have them for myself

      Like

  2. Ceritaeka January 19, 2017 / 5:43 am

    dulu aku suka pake gelang-gelang kek gitu kak, sekarang udah agak berkurang sukanya 😀
    Soalnya sering ditarik B 😛

    Like

    • Ria January 19, 2017 / 5:45 am

      ngerti lah… daripada udah disayang2 eh jadi ilang krn ditarik … mending memang gak usah dipake sekalian… eh, apa masih ada boleh dibagi ke saya…. *ngelunjak*

      Like

  3. Nita Lana Faera (@Nita_nitnotnit) January 20, 2017 / 2:03 am

    Wow this is your 2nd blog, Kak. I also prefer buying food as a souvenir, but just for my family and the closest friends, haha… I’ve no money to buy them for all people I know

    Like

    • Ria January 20, 2017 / 2:27 am

      This is my other blog:) I try to keep on writing in English here. I didn’t buy souvenirs for so many people :)))) Did I give you that impression? My salary won’t cover that kind of expenses ^_^

      Like

  4. dewi Nielsen January 20, 2017 / 5:38 pm

    I stop buying things like that since my hubby teased me 😀 I used to wear bracelet like that when I was younger 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • riatumimomor January 21, 2017 / 7:10 am

      Hahahhaha, I am much older than you & still like wearing that kind of bracelet 😉

      Like

  5. cumilebay.com February 1, 2017 / 10:06 pm

    Gw ngak pernah beli apapun saat travelling, souvenir gw cuman foto2 manja doang hahaha

    Like

Leave a Reply

