The Real Meaning Of Smart Casual

3f678b84-7113-4b5d-bea5-907fbd3085aa
12.12.16 SHOPPING DAY

A few weeks before finally the end of 2016 and as usual my office always have this year end lunch. After making reservation I noticed this email from the restaurant management. Informing us, that the dress code should be smart casual. No sportswear, sandal or slipper allowed. So, I was a bit wondering what smart casual mean anyway?

After browsing the internet, I found the explanation from Bridgette Raes . You can check out her site and will find several outfits for proper smart casual.

So, when someone said to you to wear smart casual is just a very polite way to inform you to dress properly. By all means, please don’t wear those dress that you wear when doing the laundry, taking a nap, ripped off jeans and so on. So, the event doesn’t demand you to dress up like you are going to a wedding party or attend any other formal event. But, please do take a bit of effort of dressing up properly.

I think the reason people feel the need to suggest that the dress code is smart casual because yes, there are many of us who wear whatever outfit that came to mind. I remember when I worked in a bank, has to attend many shareholders meetings with other employees from other banks. We were representing our clients to attend the meeting. Naturally, most of us wearing uniform complete with blazer and all. At the venue, we noticed several people dressing up like as if they are going to the market near at home. Note this, it’s not because they don’t have any money. They do, and I think they have much more than I have even up to this day. But, they never try to dress up or at least try to look decent. Merely, because they don’t care and I considered them a bit arrogant about it. It’s just like saying, I am THE shareholders so I can attend this meeting with whatever I want to wear. Remembering them, I started to understand why some events asked their guests to wear smart casual outfit.

So, more or less I think I can get away with these outfits:

IMG_4375

Shirt with accessories and blazer, you may combine them with skirt or pants.

IMG_0859a

Jeans will do but be very picky because not every jeans can be wear to any kind of events. Better choose the dark one for smart casual outfit. From the above photo, perhaps I should find more suitable shoes and to wear necklace. Or maybe scarf will do the trick.

pink

On one local site, I read that better wear flat shoes instead of wedges or worse flip flop. But, I think as long as is not sandals or slippers and match with your outfit then is okay. What makes me sad because sportswear is not included and most of shoes are into sportswear. Sighed…

I think I will wear my favorite batik top again as it will allow to eat as many as I can and still look decent. Or do you have any other suggestions for me? Just let me know.

IMG-20151128-WA0001

8 thoughts on “The Real Meaning Of Smart Casual

  1. coretandenina December 8, 2016 / 6:35 am

    Dulu pernah ada teman orang UK ngomong tentang smart casual ini Kak waktu ngundang

    pake outfit yang paling bawah, batik dengan sepatu flat itu, keren Kak…
    tapi yang abu-abu dan hitam di atas juga manis, walau belum lihat dipakenya…

    Liked by 1 person

    • riatumimomor December 8, 2016 / 6:40 am

      justru ada fotonya tapi aku gak suka, jadi yg dipajang yg plg atas itu aja deh :))))

      Like

      • coretandenina December 8, 2016 / 6:50 am

        maksudnya ada fotonya gimana Kak? Itu outfit paling atas foto waktu dipake ya?
        Berarti aku salah lihat, kupikir itu lagi ditaro di atas tempat tidur

        Liked by 1 person

      • riatumimomor December 8, 2016 / 7:05 am

        iya, foto yg paling atas itu aku lg pake. dan selfie-nya hanya bajunya aja. Yg keliatan seluruh badan sekalian sama mukanya, hasilnya gak okeh. jd gak dipajang 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • riatumimomor December 8, 2016 / 9:08 am

        hahahah, iya… diusahain supaya tangan gak keliatan sama sekali 🙂

        Like

  2. dewinielsen.com December 15, 2016 / 10:15 am

    Suka outfitmu kak..simple but looks so comfy gitu…
    Aku juga sukanya yg simple simple…nggak ribet …pake jeans trus atasannya t shirt atau blus tanpa lengan…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

